Winter into Spring

Vivaldi: L’Inverno and La Primavera from “The Four Seasons”
Prokofieff: Troïka from “Lieutenant Kijé”
Bloch: Hiver (Winter) and Printemps (Spring)
Delius: On Hearing The First Cuckoo In Spring
Schumann: Symphony No. 1 in B-flat Major “The Spring Symphony”

The New Millennium Chamber Orchestra conducted by James Richard Frieman presents “Winter into Spring”, featuring fiddle champion and NMCO concertmaster Colyn Fischer.

This concert, part of our 2016-2017 season, celebrates the changing of the seasons, featuring works depicting the beauty, cold, and wild storms of winter followed by the joyous awakening of spring.

Violinist Colyn Fischer will lead the orchestra in Vivaldi’s “Winter” and “Spring” concertos from “The Four Seasons. The program also includes Ernest Bloch’s rarely-heard “Hiver (Winter)” and “Printemps (Spring)” and music by Prokofiev, and Delius, bringing to life the sounds of the seasons by highlighting different orchestral musical palettes and traditions. The concert will conclude with Schumann’s “Spring” symphony, the rousing and joyful Symphony No. 1.

Saturday, March 18 at 7:30 PM
Transfiguration Episcopal Church​
3900 Alameda de las Pulgas, San Mateo
Sunday, March 19 at 4:00 PM
First Presbyterian Church of Palo Alto
1140 Cowper Street, Palo Alto